No Hallelujahs

When I heard about the death of Osama bin Laden, I felt two things: relief and patriotism. However, the first picture I saw was young people celebrating his death in front of the White House (or at least that’s what the caption read). I could never celebrate a death, no matter how despicable the character. I wrestled with my thoughts, remembering the horror of the 9/11 attacks, feeling the desperate losses that occurred that day. Still, I could not bring myself to say that I was glad that bin Laden had been killed. I could praise the President for having the trust in the Seals to authorize them to take him out as it is his duty to protect this country. Finally, I heard what I had been wanting to hear, and it evidently come from the writings of Dr. Martin Luther King: “I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Hallelujahs

  1. Dan says:

    Funny you would say that, I was telling Glenda that I was glad they had got him but somehow all the celebration did not sit right with me. You can put thing into words better than I can.

  2. Bob says:

    Great post. I want to make sure you are aware that the MLK post is inaccurate. The first line was added, in quotation marks by someone online. Subsequently, the quotation marks were lost and the entire paragraph became MLK, which it is not. Nothing at all wrong with the first line either. Just not accurate.

Leave a Reply

